UEFA eEURO 2021 officially kicked off

UEFA eEURO 2021 is the second edition of the world’s biggest efootball competition, here we share with you everything you need to know about this eSports competition.

What is UEFA eEURO 2021?

UEFA eEURO 2021 is the second edition of the efootball competition for UEFA’s 55 member associations. The competition consists of a qualification phase and a final phase. Gamers compete exclusively in the Season Update of KONAMI’s PES 2021 on Playstation 4.

The inaugural UEFA eEURO 2020 was won by the Italian national team.

Where can I watch eEURO 2021?

The games will be available for viewing Youtube Oficial

Summary of the first day here:

Who competes in each country?

The team is the most important part of the tournament, it is the essence of soccer. Therefore, each federation will participate with a national efootball team of between two and four ‘gamers’ representing their country.

Between November 2020 and February 2021, the federations selected team members in a tournament unless a national efootball team already exists. The selected team will compete in the online qualification phase.

How does the qualification phase work?

The draw for the group stage took place in February. The participating countries were divided into ten groups of five or six teams.

Each country plays two 1-on-1 matches against the other countries in its group. The points from both matches will be added to the group standings. The future top ten of the groups qualify directly for the finals.

The ten runners-up participate in a play-off tournament to determine the other six finalists. Here, the participating teams are divided into two groups of five, with the top three teams qualifying.

How does the final phase work?

There will be a live event scheduled in London in July to decide the UEFA eEURO 2021 champion. The 16 finalist teams will be drawn into four groups of four, with the top two from each group advancing to the knockout stage. Each match until the final will then be a best-of-three series. The final will be played in a best-of-five series.

What is the monetary award?

A total of 100,000 euros in cash prizes will be distributed among all finalists, including 40,000 euros for the winners.

When are the games played?

November 2020 – February 2021: selection of players by national federations
February 2021: draw for the group stage qualifiers
15-19 March / 12-26 April 2021: group stage qualification draw
April/May 2021: draw for the play-offs
May 2021: play-off tournament
May/June 2021: draw for UEFA eEURO 2021 group stage
9 – 10 July 2021: UEFA eEURO 2021 finals

@alex-martinez Fuente: UEFA OFICIAL

Wil Walteros

Wil Walteros
Journalist - Periodista
Bogotá - Colombia

View All Posts